in tandem with accounting for some of my lack of regularity in posting here recently, i now report that i’ve recently started another blog for (mainly) a gang of four fellow linguists. actually, i did not set it up, P did, but he is one of the fellow travellers anyway. i merely enthemed it and diddled with the extras, then started the conversation. it’s called inter-stratal tension, which is a sort of in-joke for systemicists.
while P is engaged in more practical and everyday pursuits involved in delivering lectures, attending to university admin matters, fielding student enquiries, dealing with blackboard and its drawbacks, etc, i and the other three indulge in some entertaining back& forth about aspects of the conception of the lexico-grammatical system as we see it.
because we are indulging, and because we know each other to be iconoclasts in some way, we have not made the blog public, i.e. we have not annouced its presence to other systemicists. thus, for example, there are only 2 recognised members who are also authors, plus 2 admins (me and P). there are no subscribers as yet, and comments are restricted to those who are registered and logged in…
the other day, however, someone who is not a user managed to post a comment which was obviously a bit of a joke. calling themselves ‘webmaster’, with a link that lead to nowhere, the comment read something like: “please send me a list of contacts as i have a question for you”. now, with no email address, nor a link leading anywhere, there was obviously no possibility of sending this person anything anyway…
i wondered how this person could have subverted the settings so that s/he could make a comment and have it approved (as it was in the comment log) without being a subscriber or without it needing to be approved by moderation. and without leaving an address – actually there was an email address under the wording, but the address seemed invalid anyway.
i checked out the IP address, even though these days one can easily make out one is neither here nor there. but for interest, and i spose, almost unsurprisingly, it was a russian server:
http://www.ip-whois-lookup.com/lookup.php?ip=188.168.84.224
anyone got any ideas on how this was done?
there is a hole in wordpress somewhere i guess, and some people know how to access it.